IOA Awards at 2015 AGM

2014 IOA Annual Award Winners and Nominees (presented at 2015 AGM)


IMG-20150517-WA0006Mac Tire Award


george receiving trophyGeorge Taylor of Sligo Orienteering Club.

George received this award for his total commitment to Orienteering. He has helped stretch the boundaries of Orienteering outside of Sligo. Sligo Orienteering Club now encompasses much of Leitrim and Roscommon due to George Taylor. He plans and sets out the majority of the courses held in Leitrim and Roscommon. He also brings tea and cake on occasion for participants. Along with that, he remains positive and helpful to all orienteers both old and new.
Full details of the award scheme are at IOA Annual Awards[hr]

2014 Spirit of Orienteering Award (presented at 2015 AGM)

This year the Spirit of Orienteering Award was presented to two people, Brian Power RIP of Setanta Orienteers and Mick Kellett RIP of Great Eastern Navigators. Both contributed hugely to orienteering during their lives and are missed by their clubs and many in the sport.



Performance Excellence Awards

Perf Excell AwardAt the 2015 AGM five Performance Excellence awards were presented.

The recipients were;

Nicolas Simonin (BOC), for performance in WOC 2014.

Eoin McCullough (3ROC), for performance in JWOC 2014.

Colm Rothery (Ajax), for performance in World Masters Long Distance M40, 2000.

Bill Edwards (CorkO), for performance in World Masters Sprint M40, 2009.

Marcus Pinker (CorkO), for performance in World Masters 2014 .

Orienteering in Ireland
  • Orienteering Ireland
    Irish Sport HQ
    D15 DY62