2013 IOA Annual Award Winners and Nominees (presented at 2014 AGM)


Mactire TrophyMactire Award

Padraig Higgins (MNAV) was nominated by Sligo Orienteering club for his work on maps and events in the Sligo, Roscommon and Leitrim areas. Padraig has been producing maps every year since 1984, maps have been produced for Connacht, Leinster, Irish Championships and for Army Championships events. In the last year he has produced at least a dozen maps for introductory events in Sligo, Leitrim and Roscommon. He has produced maps for  Street events in Athlone and ran evening events using them. He has produced school maps and organised events for scouts, schools and business firms in the Athlone area for the last 2 years. Padraig has either been planner or controller for all major events in Connacht for the past 30 years.


Full details of the award scheme are at IOA Annual Awards


2013 Spirit of Orienteering Award (presented at 2014 AGM)

This year the Spirit of Orienteering Award was presented to Brian Corbett of CorkO.

This award is given to one person each year. It is in recognition of outstanding service or performance in the sport, either for exceptional efforts in a single year or for a long term contribution that makes a lasting impact on the sport.

Nomination process:  The IOA executive nominate candidates for this award. The support of two members of the executive are required for a successful nomination, and in the event of more than one nomination a vote will decide the winner, with the Chairperson having the casting vote in the event of a tie.


Performance Excellence Awards

Perf Excell AwardAt the 2014 AGM one Performance Excellence award was presented. The recipient was Nicolas Simonin (BOC). He achieved a place in finals in WOC2013.


Orienteering in Ireland
  • Orienteering Ireland
    Irish Sport HQ
    D15 DY62
  • fixtures@orienteering.ie
  • info@orienteering.ie