Orienteering Ireland Annual Award Holders

2021 Orienteering Ireland Annual Award Winners (presented at 2022 AGM)

 Full details of the award scheme are at IOA Annual Awards[hr]

Mac Tire Award

Eileen Young of Fingal received the Mac Tire Award 2021

‘Her services to the sport has continued in the pandemic era with incredible devotion in the production of MapRun courses throughout Leinster and parts of Cavan and Monaghan. These courses gave orienteers an opportunity to participate and train on orienteering courses, while public events were suspended.’


Spirit of Orienteering Award

Sean Cotter of Bishopstown Orienteering Club received the Spirit of Orienteering Award 2021.

‘Over many years the name Sean Cotter has been synonymous with orienteering in the Munster region. He has been a constant promoter of the sport for many years and has been either directly or indirectly responsible for introducing many people to the sport. Some of these have gone on to represent Ireland at the highest level. Irrespective of ability his constant positivity has ensured people keep coming back. On completion of a run everyone always gets a positive affirmation of their effort.

He has competed, Planned, Controlled and mapped for many years. He has been involved at club level, schools and with many scouting and volunteer groups. He was interacting with Local Sports partnerships and county development groups for many years.

His emphasis now is on accessible Orienteering for mass participation. Every Sunday at BOC events around the Cork county area he always has large numbers of beginners and novice Orienteers returning for their regular fix of the sport.’

Sean Cotter – winner of the 2021 Spirit of Orienteering Award


Performance Excellence Awards

There were no recipients of the Performance Excellence Awards in 2021.


Previous Years

IOA Annual Awards at 2020 AGM

IOA Annual Awards at 2019 AGM

IOA Annual Awards at 2018 AGM
IOA Annual Awards 2017 agm

IOA Awards at 2016 AGM
IOA Awards at 2015 AGM
IOA Awards and nominations at 2014 AGM
IOA Awards and nominations at 2013 AGM
IOA Awards and nominations at 2012 AGM
IOA Awards and nominations at 2011 AGM
IOA Awards and nominations at 2010 AGM
Past Winners of Mactire, Silva Trophy and Silva Award

Orienteering in Ireland
  • Orienteering Ireland
    Irish Sport HQ
    D15 DY62
  • fixtures@orienteering.ie
  • info@orienteering.ie