Munster Primary Results

The provisional results of the Munster Primary Schools event for 2009 hosted by Waterford orienteering Club are now posted on the IOA website.
Thank you to all the teachers and pupils who took part on a glorious sunny day at Colligan woods near Dungarvan. Thank you also to the pupils from Transition year at Newtown school, Waterford who helped on the start and finish.

The 5th class Boys event was dominated by the Chroist Ri team with the Pims from Dunhill getting in amongst the individual placings. Brian Barry kept on a long family tradition in the fastest time of the day.

1. Brian Barry, Scoil Chroist Ri , 23:15
2. Jonathan Pim, Dunhill , 28:13
3. Conor Dennehy,Scoil Chroist Ri , 28:45
4. Cathal O’Regan,Scoil Chroist Ri , 29:04
5. Robert Pim, Dunhill, 30:09
6. Aaron Browne, Scoil Chroist Ri, 32:38

The 6th class boys section was won by Dromahane with Butlerstown narrowly pipping Faithlegg for 2nd place. Some of the boys were too fast, they missed the last control and punched the finish instead. This accounted for the majority of the dnf’s. Better luck next time.

1. Hughie Broderick, Dromahane NS, 33:51
2. Glen Kennefick, Dromahane NS, 35:16
3. Dylan O’Callaghan, Dromahane NS, 35:57
4. Dylan Murphy, Dromahane NS, 40:16
5. Mark Shanahan, Butlerstown NS, 41:11
6. Jack Tyrell, Butlerstown NS, 42:44
7. Luke Nolan, Faithlegg NS, 42:46

The 5th class girls was dominated by Carrigtwohill with Mallow pipping Grangemockler for 2nd place. Yet further family connections to the fore here!

1. Ciara Fitzgerald, Carrigtohill NS, 22:23
2. Norah O’Brien, Carrigtohill NS, 23:34
3. Hannah Sheehan, Mallow, 26.39
4. Cayleigh Boland, Carrigtohill NS, 28:35
5. Elizabeth Halloran, Mallow, 30.19
6. Shauna Kenny, Grangemockler NS, 34:21
7. Emilie Falvey, Mallow, 34.37
8. Anna O’Mahony, Carrigtohill NS, 35:30
9. Aine Lyons, Grangemockler NS, 37:15
10. Kerrie Bolger, Grangemockler NS, 37:27

Convent Primary Mallow were the clear winners of the highly competitive 6th class section. Ballygowan were 2nd closely followed by Faithlegg, Butlerstown and the Mercy, Waterford.
Again most of the dnf’s missed either the first or last control thinking the start was control 1 and the finish control 10….a learning experience. Faye Mansfield’s run was the best female performance of the day.

1. Faye Mansfield, C P Mallow, 19:20
2. Sinead O’Reilly, C P Mallow, 25:19
3. Emily Fitzpatrick, C P Mallow, 26:08
4. Ailbhe Callnan, Ballygowan NS, 26:19

A pleasing feature was the high rate of completion including the Mercy, Waterford girls mostly running in pairs on the Boys course.

Pictures to follow!

Orienteering in Ireland
  • Orienteering Ireland
    Irish Sport HQ
    D15 DY62