Final Leinster Secondary League event

Another strong run by Maciek Piotrowski (St Kilians CS, Bray) in the final race of the Leinster Schools Orienteering League, held in Tymon Park, Tallaght, assured him of the league title in 5th/6th Year Boys category, his third consecutive league title win, whilst Luke Kearney (Castleknock CC) and Ruairi Long (Rockbrook Park, Rathfarnham) battled it out yet again, but Luke’s faster running speed won through, securing him the title in 2nd/3rd Year Boys.  In the 1st Year Girls league, consistently good results in every race from Mairead Griffin (Castleknock CC) won her the title.

Boys:  5th/6th Yr Boys: 1. David Costello (CCC) 31:54; 2 Maciek Piotrowski (St Kilian’s CS, Bray) 33:28; 3 Brian Kennelly (High School Rathgar) 33:40.
TY Boys:  1, Niall Cornyn (St Peter’s College, Dunboyne) 30:32; 2 Shane Keenan (CCC) 31:30; 3 Mark Connolly (St Peter’s) 34:13.
2nd/3rd Yr Boys  1. Luke Kearney (CCC) 25:28; 2. Ruairi Long (Rockbrook Park, Rathfarnham) 28:32; 3 Gavin Dooley (Rockbrook) 29:40.
1st Yr Boys, 1. Sean Nagle (CCC) 19:28; 2 Alex Clerkin (CCC) 21:36; 3 Dara Kelly (Rockbrook) 24:06.
5th/6th Yr Girls (A), 1. Ailbhe Ryan & Aislinn Roche (Mount Sackville, Chapelizod) 23:01; 2 Aoibhinn Dowdall & Amy Farrell (MSC) 26:58; 3 Clodagh Fulston & Deirdre Behan (MSC) 30:22.
TY Girls : 1. Sarah Goodwin (St Peter’s) 22:45; 2 Laura Fallon (St Peter’s) 23:08; 3 Susan Culhane (St Peter’s) 28:29.
2nd/3rd Yr Girls (A), 1. Ailbhe Healy (CCC) 22:35; 2 Jean O’Brien (CC) 24:55; 3 Anne-Elise Clinton & Niamh Murray (CCC) 26:39.
1st Yr Girls, 1. Rachael Armstrong & Asia Cheung (CCC) 20:25; 2 Suen Solanke & Hannah Byrne (Dundalk Grammar School) 20:42; 3 Jumana Wootton (CCC) 22:29.
5th/6th Yr Girls (B), 1 Sally Hanrahan & Dandy Cruise (Holy Child Killiney) 19:15; 2 Sarah Conalty & Emma Ryan (Holy Child) 25:05; 3 Emily Clery & Issie Cleary (Holy Child ) 25:36.

Full Results here

Orienteering in Ireland
Orienteering Ireland, Irish Sport HQ, Blanchardstown
D15 DY62, Ireland