Faithlegg recapture shield

Thank you to members of Waterford Orienteering Club (Hugh and Liz Dobbs, Andrew Pim, Pat and Veronica Purcell, Jana Cox) and Form 5 pupils from Newtown school (Izzie, Nichola and Anna) for running todays event at the RSC.

280 Primary pupils took part from 9 schools. Full resultshere.
Pictures used in the Munster Express newspaper spread can be looked at here.
Overall winners were Faithlegg National School (92.23) who recaptured the mixed shield from last year’s winners Butlerstown (98.15)
Waterpark (42.55) were clear winners in the 5th class Primary Boys section from Christchurch (62.07) and Faithlegg (73.17). James Bond and Joseph Ryan (Waterpark, 1st), Gary Healy and Dean O’Mahoney (Waterpark, 2nd) and Craig Johnson and Harry Jephson (Christchurch 3rd).

Faithlegg (37.20) narrowly won the 6th class Boys from Butlerstown (2nd, 38.27) and Dunhill (3rd, 61.10). Leading pair were Robert Pim and Conor Quinn from Dunhill whilst Sean Darcy and Joe Monaghan (Faithlegg) were 2nd and Bill Lacey and Tom Costello (Butlerstown) were 3rd.

St John of Gods were clear winners in both the 5th and 6th class sections.
In 5th class, Danielle Leonard and Ciara Silby (1st), Hazel Purcell and Maya Howlin (2nd) and Hannah Jacob and Casey Cullinane (3rd) gave JOG a clean sweep. Waterpark (2nd, 62.26), Christchurch (3rd, 83.53) and Faithlegg (4th, 85.03) were the team placings.

In 6th class, Lorna Aylward and Maeve Bolger (1st, JOG), Kate Maguire and Eleanor Walsh (2nd, JOG) and Niamh Walsh and Alice Hutchinson (3rd, Mercy) were the individual placings).
St John of Gods (1st, 31,53), Mercy (2nd, 42.14), Christchurch (3rd, 51.48), Faithlegg (4th, 55.03), Butlerstown (5th, 59.48)

Bad luck to the pair from Mercy Primary who had an exceptionally fast time but failed to punch one of the controls properly.

Orienteering in Ireland
  • Orienteering Ireland
    Irish Sport HQ
    D15 DY62